Bhagavad Gita Chapter 17, Text 07

Bg 17.7

aharas tv api sarvasya
tri-vidho bhavati priyah
yajnas tapas tatha danam
tesam bhedam imam srnu

Word for word: 
aharah — eating; tu — certainly; api — also; sarvasya — of everyone; tri-vidhah — of three kinds; bhavati — there is; priyah — dear; yajnah — sacrifice; tapah — austerity; tatha — also; danam — charity; tesam — of them; bhedam — the differences; imam — this; srnu — hear.

Translation by His Divine Grace A. C. Bhaktivedanta Swami Srila Prabhupada:
Even the food each person prefers is of three kinds, according to the three modes of material nature. The same is true of sacrifices, austerities and charity. Now hear of the distinctions between them.

Purport by His Divine Grace A. C. Bhaktivedanta Swami Srila Prabhupada:
In terms of different situations in the modes of material nature, there are differences in the manner of eating and performing sacrifices, austerities and charities. They are not all conducted on the same level. Those who can understand analytically what kind of performances are in what modes of material nature are actually wise; those who consider all kinds of sacrifice or food or charity to be the same cannot discriminate, and they are foolish. There are missionary workers who advocate that one can do whatever he likes and attain perfection. But these foolish guides are not acting according to the direction of the scripture. They are manufacturing ways and misleading the people in general.